#30in30 Day 11: Answering 5 Tough Questions (Part I)

I hate those spam type posts on social media where it’s tons of dumb questions and people random just answer them. I remember on Twitter, people used to do like question of the day and it would just circulate across timelines. I wanted to do a post related to answering some random, abstract questions. Consider this a free-write born out of being too sleepy to conjure up an actual topic.

If your entire life was a movie, what title would best fit? The Re-Birth. I always thought that once you reach a certain age, who you are is who you’re going to be. But that’s not necessarily true. At 35, I’m still learning new things and gaining new insight about myself, life, and love.

If you could start over, what would you do differently? I think we all have some situations we’d want to do over; no matter how much they’ve influenced the dopeness of current you. For me, I wouldn’t have gotten married so young. I missed out on a lot of things because I didn’t want to be viewed as a failure. Yet hindsight has shown me that sometimes, you’re way better off by eating crow.

What is the difference between living and existing? Living is all about the present. We all have these grandiose goals and plans. However when you simply live 24 hours at a time, you allow yourself the freedom to be happy where you are and hopeful about what’s to come. Existing implies a level of mediocrity. You’re not contributing to your individual growth nor are you making the people around you better. You have no real direction on where you want your life to go. You’re just sort of here.

If you had a year left to live, what would you achieve over the next 12 months? I’d definitely get married and film a movie about everything I was doing in that year to leave to my family as a momento.

What have you given up on? I’m given up on trying to be perfect. I’ve given up on trying to be everything to everybody. I’ve given up on depriving myself of peace. I’ve given up on obsessing over things I can’t control. I’ve given up on trying to make people see things my way. I’ve given up on making people who don’t matter understand me. I’ve given up on being stubborn. I’ve given up on cursing (work in progress). I’ve given up on maintaining the facade that nothing phases me. I’ve given up on not living life as it’s meant to be live.

Express Yourself

