#30in30 Day 1: Back At It For The First Time

I’ve done a writing challenge for the last couple of years. I did the #31dayreset on my personal site in 2012. Here, I did a 30 posts in 30 days challenge in 2013. I didn’t do 1 in 2014 because I felt like I was spreading myself thin. People who aren’t writers think writing is easy as long as you have talent or can come up with great ideas. But it’s no different than singing or, in my case, crossing up 20 year olds on the court. Being a strong writer is all about practice and repetition.

I realized a few weeks ago that I’d fallen short of my goal to have guest posts on certain sites. So I decided today to go back to the basics of just writing every day. I bought a physical journal to break myself out of the habit of saving ideas or writing shorthand on my phone. I think if you’re going to do a writing challenge of any length, you need to just write from your head.

It’s interesting when I revisit some of those 2013 posts because I see how much life has changed. That first post’s prompt was to write about something you’re excited about that time. I almost have to laugh at what I wrote and then to see what happened in 2014. What a difference a year can make.

Express Yourself

