So…I Wrote A Book

I’m trying to make 2014 the year I expand and try things that I’ve previously been scared to try. In 2012, I wrote a short story. I’ve already had a post of mine published on a major site. But for a few months, I’ve been working on a project that I kept under wraps and didn’t discuss with anyone but an editor and designer.

Signing Day

I’ve been writing about my job, both directly and indirectly, for the past year. I got the idea to consolidate my Agent Diaries series as an eBook after a lot of networking on LinkedIn. It’s amazing how many people have no clue what sports agents actually do, aside from getting their clients big contracts.

It took me 4 months to write and edit the posts I’d already written. During that time, I was also working with an editor to help me make sure everything was grammatically correct and would make sense. In the final 2 weeks, I obsessed over what to do add and take out, how long the eBook should be, and what topics to cover. Writing a book is f**kin hard!

I came across a dope graphic designer who put together 2 different covers for me. Ultimately, I decided to go with the cover that resonated with me as a person and the audience I wrote the book for. This is my 1st book and I’m thrilled to be able to share it with people.

I’m constantly thinking about my purpose and the legacy I want to leave. I’m not just an agent. I’m not just a guy who works with gifted basketball players. I want my career to mean more than that. I realized that as blessed as I have been, it’s been an arduous process. I can’t identify when, but at some point, I decided that it’s important as a man of color to pay it forward in whatever way I can. I don’t think I’d make a good mentor yet because I’m still learning. What I do know is I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my journey to get to this point. If I can prevent someone from making the same ones and save them some time, then I’ve made a difference.

I know most of my readers don’t read my Agent Diaries series or you might not even care about my job. And that’s cool. But I’d love it if you simply support the book and take a read. I purposely made it short and direct. You can access Signing Day without having to download by clicking the titled tab up top.

Thanks everyone!

Express Yourself

