Late Free Throws Lead To Syracuse’s 1st Upset

It happens to every team. The 18-1 Patriots. The Broncos in the Superbowl. The Yankees this past season. And now Syracuse can join in on #thehumbling.

When I got the ESPN “breaking news” alert, I wasn’t sure that I’d want to watch this game on DVR. But I needed some background noise while I packed.

Not only did Boston College come into the Dome and hand the Orange their first loss of the season, they pretty much won the game off of free throws. There are two things in basketball that will haunt coaches and players in close games; a major defensive error under the 2:00 mark and missed free throws.

lonnie-jackson-bc

Boston College’s Lonnie Jackson, who did very little in regulation, came through 4-4 from the stripe in overtime. Much like Duke, BC also cut into Syracuse’s lead by sinking 10 3-pointers in the second half and OT combined.

In a post-game conference, Coach Jim Boeheim said “You’re just not going to win all these games. I’m not sure exactly how we’ve won some of the games we’ve won.”

I can’t say for sure if it was good for the team to get this L out of the way heading into Cameron. What I will say is I’m glad it wasn’t Duke who took the Orange down.

Express Yourself

