#30in30 Challenge: The Genesis

Last year, I tried to do the #30in30 challenge and failed miserably! Writing 30 posts in 30 days seems intimidating. It’s something you have to consciously set aside time to do. Other writers I follow on Twitter have done it. As I was reading old posts, I thought to myself, “okay, I go to the gym regularly. I work everyday. It can’t be that hard to write a post every day for the next month.”

30-days-of-writing

My birthday is 30 days from today and I felt like today would be a perfect day to kick off the challenge. If you’re an email subscriber, you might want to change your subscription option or just follow via WordPress by clicking the button at the top of this page.

If you google 30 day writing challenge, quite a few different lists will come up. It’s great to be able to have a topic everyday or at the very least a prompt to get you thinking. I tend to incorporate music into my personal blog. So that’ll likely be a common thread in this challenge. I hope you guys enjoy the next crazy month along with me. And if you’ve done a 30 day writing challenge in the past, let me know how it worked out for you in the comments section.

Day #1: Something I’m excited about right now

The Finals! It’s something about Texas teams that Miami has problems with. The 2010-2011 Dallas Mavericks team had a great 6th man in Jason Terry. Dirk Nowitzki and Tyson Chandler gave Miami’s front court major match up issues. This San Antonio team is a little different and not as consistent as that Dallas team was. For starters, when a player is 1-dimensional like Danny Green, it’s easy to read him. Manu Ginobili won game 5 for the Spurs and then went back to being a liability. But they have Tony Parker and Tim Duncan. The great thing about this Finals  series is there’s no way you can still refer to the Spurs as boring anymore. Each game has had its own identity and been equally exciting. When the big 3 struggled, role players put the team on their shoulders. Duncan had 1 of his better games of the entire year in Game 6. Had the Spurs made some clutch free throws, undoubtedly, they’d be celebrating right now.

This is Miami’s 3rd consecutive Finals appearance. One could say that Spoelstra’s roster, mainly Lebron James, actually do all the work while he gives JV speeches in huddles. But you have to give it to Spo – he’s made some smart adjustments going up against 1 of the best coaches of all time. Popovich is right up there with Phil Jackson, Pat Riley, and Red Auerbach as the most winningest coaches in NBA history. I give Spo a lot of credit for being able to give this storied franchise and NBA fans a competitive, well-played series.

Saying Game 7 will be epic is an understatement. As a Knicks fan, I’ve jumped on the Spurs bandwagon sheerly out of hatred for Miami. But my job also has a client playing in his 1st NBA Finals and we’re super proud of him. The Finals have alternated wins. Based on that trend, I think we’re due to see Tony Parker have another huge offensive game as he did in Game 1. When the Finals started, I said Spurs in 7.

Do you think the Spurs have that surge to win championship #5? How have you felt about this series in general?

2 comments

  1. The challenge of writing 30 different posts in 30 days is not for the faint of heart bruh. I commend you for taking on the challenge again.

    As far as the Finals go, I’m pulling for Miami. As a Lakers fan, it’s hard to root for the Spurs, even if I respect the squad. All that to say, Miami is gonna blow out San Antonio in Game 7.

    1. I started to think maybe it’ll be easier if I bulk write when I have a lump of time and just schedule posts, but I dont think theres a trick to finishing it. You just gotta man up and write.

Express Yourself

