The Alchemist Constantly Teaches

I’m a cancer, so I’m an emotional person by default. Some people see that as a bad thing. Honestly if I was as lackadaisical as a Libra or as delusional as a Gemini, I could never get to be where I am.

After reading sections of The Alchemist for the 3rd time tonight, I was given a different insight as to who 32 year old James has become.

As anyone else, I’ve been cheated on, been lied to, been disappointed by people I trust, I’m no different than you. However the 1 way we might differ is I chose to deal with things with venom. Bear in mind, there’s venom that’s good for you and venom that’ll take you out. For example, tarantulas are the epitome disgusting! Yet there’s a protein in its venom that helps to restore cellular activity and can aid in diseases of the digestive system. I say that to say, we always give more credence to the venomous creatures that can harm us.

Life works the same way. We tend to overlook the blessings bestowed upon us. We often feel like we never have enough just because we don’t have all of what we want. If you’re a spiritual person, then you believe that everything happens for a reason and that God is always in control. But if you’re like me, you’re a hybrid; you believe but you also exercise free will.

I’ve reacted to many situations in the past few years that weren’t worth responding to. I allowed myself to mentally go places I didn’t wantto go. I’ve also had victory over situations I thought were hopeless. Going into battle, I figured I was gonna lose. But the man in me wanted to go down knowing I did everything I could. And when I got halfway through the battle, I realized that this was just 1 battle. The war that we’re constantly in isn’t over until a shovel covers our faces with dirt.

While you may be passive in life and think all the things that happen to you aren’t your fault, at some point you have to admit to yourself that you decide what your life is going to become. It’s your life, so it should be all about you right?

I deserve happiness

I trust myself

I can handle this

I made it through another day

Selfishness is not always the worst thing to be. In The Alchemist, there’s a principle that Coelho mentions that was my “a-ha” moment tonight. ““When we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better too.” 

You can’t make people do what you want them to do. You can’t make people be who you want them to be. But if you’re the person that you aim to be, your life will experience a powerful rippling effect.

Express Yourself

